Spoons Full of Sugar

Life is full of sugar moments that make life worth living!

Throwback Thursday

Leave a comment

This throwback Thursday is all about another important figure in my life – my Aunt Faye!

ImageYou’ve already heard some snibbits about her.  She is the youngest of my dad’s brothers and sisters, and she was the one that would “wander” over to my mom’s house and stare out them through the fence while they played.  She lived with my grandma and Aunt Duke in the house they all grew up in; and like my Aunt Duke, she worked hard to spoil me rotten!

Mamaw, Aunt Duke, and Aunt Faye were always a trio; and they came to every major event of my life.  Graduations, weddings, concerts, plays, they were always there.  When dad passed away, Aunt Faye and Aunt Duke were in the car and headed to Ohio within a few hours.  One of the best gifts they ever gave me was making sure my mamaw made the trip to Ohio for our wedding.

ImageAunt Faye can also be blamed for my biggest obsession!  During one summer visit, she showed me this cassette tape she had bought by this new group – New Kids on the Block.  I can remember staying curled up in their papasan chair for hours listening to it over and over and over.  She also helped me cut the clothes off the Jordan Knight doll she got me for Christmas so we could see what was going on under them!  Notice the t-shirt – it’s New Kids!

ImageWe would talk clothes and jewelry and boys for hours (mainly boys), and we’ve had more laughs than I can even count.  Like the time we went to Michigan for my cousin’s wedding.  I got us a swanky hotel in downtown Detroit via Priceline; and every time someone would ask us where we were staying, we would get, “DETROIT?!  Why would you want to stay in DETROIT?!”  That was also the time we nearly lost it during the prayer at the reception.  (I can now make fun of it publicly because my cousin NOW knows what a psycho is ex-wife and her family were!)  As her uncle was blessing the meal, in the most drawn out, high and lofty voice, he started with, “Dear Lord!  Take the curse from this food!”  I nearly fell off my seat!  I proceeded to smack at Aunt Faye’s leg through the rest of the prayer.  Since we had eaten a chocolate bar before the prayer, as soon as the prayer was over, I asked in a very worried voice, “Oh my goodness!  What’s going to happen to us?!  We ate that chocolate while it was still cursed!”  Then I asked if that’s why I was fat?  Was it because I’ve been eating cursed food for my entire life?!  Barry, if you’re reading this, sorry; but that was just too weird.

ImageShe has always loved and supported me no matter what; and no matter how bad my hair style was, she always made me feel like the most beautiful girl in all the world.  (Don’t miss the stylish, stonewashed jean purse/backpack!)

ImageI’m so blessed and lucky to have the best group of aunts and uncles in the world, and my Aunt Faye’s star shines especially bright!  I sure do love her!!!

Image

 

 

Author: daypugs

My husband and I live in Columbus, Ohio with our two furry, four footed babies. I met my husband at college in Nashville, Tennessee where I earned a Bachelor's in Psychology and Learning. After graduation, we moved to Ohio to be closer to my family, and I went to work full time for The Disney Stores before taking a teller position with a local credit union - a credit union I had joined through my dad. I now work for that credit union as Human Resources. Life took a dramatic turn from teaching elementary school to running a Human Resources department. It's been a wild ride, and I can't wait to see what lies around the next bend!

Leave a Reply

